(C) Wed Aug 5 17:28:15 EDT 1998 Ventring Crew 369

Table of Contents

Background and Purpose of the Leadership Award:

The Venturing Leadership Award is presented by councils, areas/regions, and the BSA National Council to ventures and adults who have made exceptional contributions to Venturing and who exemplify the Venturing code.

Requirements of the Leadership Award:

Venturing Leadership Award candidates must be registered and involved in Venturing as a Venturer or an adult for at least one year. They must hold a leadership position or office on the unit, district, council, area, region or national level (as appropriate for the level of the award presented). The candidate must show exceptional dedication and give outstanding leadership and service to Venturing and to Venturers on the level appropriate for the award.

Detailed Requirements of the Leadership Award:

Quota Restrictions of the Leadership Award:

Councils may present two awards for youth and two for adults per year for up to fifty crews/ships and one additional youth and adult award per year for each fraction of twenty-five crews/ships above fifty. Example: for fifty-one register5ed crews/ships, a total of three youth and three adult awards may be presented; for seventy-eight crews/ships, four youth and adult awards could be presented. Regions may present twelve youth and twelve adult awards per year. National may present six youth and six adult awards per year.

Procedures of the Leadership Award:

Venturing youth and adults may be recommended at the council, area, region, or national level by completing the Venturing Leadership Award candidate information form. An additional sheet with two hundred words or less explaining why the candidate should receive the award and letters of recommendation from school, church, clubs, etc., must be provided with the information from.

Recognition of the Leadership Award:

Council - Medallion suspended from blue and white ribbon and worn around the neck, (for unit-, district-, and council-level recognition.)

Area/Region - Medallion suspended from green and white ribbon and worn around the nick. (for area- and region-level recognition.)

National - Medallion suspended from red and white ribbon and worn around the neck. (for national-level recognition.)

times since August 4th, 1998.